CULT 29535: Education In A Democratic Society: Finding Articles

Research databases are online tools you can use to search for articles on a topic  They include information about articles published in journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Many provide full-text of the articles.  You can read, download, print, or e-mail articles directly from the computer. 

Periodical articles are the most important source of information on current research and practice. The most efficient method of locating articles is to use the Library's research databases.  Different databases cover different periodicals. Useful databases are listed below.   

EBSCO DATABASES -- These databases can be searched individually or as a group. Be aware that some limiters may be lost when searching as a group. General keyword searching will search all the chosen databases. Follow a link for an EBSCO database and then click on the "Choose databases" link. Select the databases you want to search by checking the box. When you have selected the databases you need click on "OK". You are then searching multiple databases at the same time. Enter your search terms.

ERIC -- (an EBSCO database) a national education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.  It consists of over 900,000 citations from journals, reports, and other sources spanning the entire field of education and related areas.

Education Full-Text -- (an EBSCO database) Education Full Text indexes articles from education journals. This resource is helpful in locating articles on a wide range of educational topics. There are approximately 770 journals indexed, 440 of them are peer-reviewed.

Education Research Complete-- (an EBSCO database) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. It also includes is full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for education-related conference papers.

Professional Development Collection -- (an EBSCO database) The Professional Development Collection is a wonderful database to use when looking for those “how-to” articles written by practicing teachers.

Primary Search -- (an EBSCO database) Provides full text for 50 children's magazines and over 100 children's pamphlets, designed for elementary school students in grades K-5. This database now also includes the content from Encyclopedia of Animals.

Middle Search Plus -- (an EBSCO database) Provides full text for over 140 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and junior high school students in grades 6-8. This database now also includes the content from Encyclopedia of Animals.

MAS Ultra -- (an EBSCO database) Provides full text for 460 general interest and current events magazines for high school students in grades 9-12.

Other Useful Databases

Electronic Journal Center -- Full-text coverage of selected research journals.  Education journals are listed under Social Sciences. 

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database -- The CLCD offers reviews of children’s books, multimedia, and audio books.  It also provides cataloging information, subject terms, and annotations. 

INFOhio -- The state’s virtual K-12 library and information network provides access to resources by grade level.  Includes reading lists for children.