COMM 15000: Intro to Communications: Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database. Academic Search Complete  provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily.

SAVE TIME!

Before beginning your search, click on the “Choose Databases” link at the top of the screen. 

• From this list, look for other appropriate databases.
  
• Check the box beside your choice(s).
• Examples:
  • Add “Newspaper Source” if you are looking for state or current information.
    
  • Add the Health databases "CINAHL", "Health Source" and "Medline" if your topic is health related.
    
  • Add the "Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection" if your topic is related to psychology.
• Click the “OK” button.  

1. Phrase searching is the default. 
   • Example:  African Killer Bees
2. Enter individual concepts on separate lines
   • Example: Driving (on top line) and Elderly (on second line)
3. Put synonyms on separate lines separated by ethe word "or"
   • Example:  cell phone (on top line) or mobile phone (on second line)
4. The results list will appear. The listed is arranged by relevancy.
5. Those listed as HTML and PDF are full-text and may be saved, printed or emailed to an account. 
6. “Find a Copy” will connect users with full-text in other databases or provide a link for inter-library loan.
   • If the article is available in another database, a yellow box with a link will appear on the left of the screen. Click on this link.
   • If it is not available, the article can be requested through inter-library loan using the link on the right of the screen.  

1. From the results list, select articles of interest by clicking on the words "Add to Folder."
2. A gold box will appear on the left; click on "Go to Folder View."
3. From the "folder view," the articles can be printed, emailed or saved.
4. Citations may also be formatted into different citation formats.