Columbiana Campus Libraries: Finding Articles

1. Select the subject guide list (see below) for research databases and find the subject that matches your topic.  Follow the guide to select the best database.
2. Use the alphabetical guide list (see below) if you know the research database that you want.  
3. Try searching the other databases listed on this page.

Research databases are the online tools used to search for articles (and other forms of information) on a specific topic. The databases include information about articles that have been published in journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Many of the databases provide full-text of the articles.     

Databases selected and subscribed to by Kent libraries and OhioLINK may be accessed through the  Alphabetical guide list or by using the Subject guide list.

The Journal Finder is a tool for locating print and electronic journals.  Enter the title or ISSN of the journal that you seek, or browse a list of journals. The journal finder is also searchable by topic.  The results list will link to the electronic journal or indicate which of the Kent campuses own the print journal.

Academic Search Complete is one of the most often used databases.  It provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications in academic areas of social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 

Need help?  Ask at the desk or try one of these tutorials:

Research Databases Part 1: Searching for Articles by Topic
Covers accessing research databases (specifically Academic Search Premier [ASP]), searching ASP by keyword, limiting searches, reviewing Boolean connectors and truncation and examining search results.

Research Databases Part 2: Locating Full Text Journal Articles
Covers accessing full text in ASP, using “Find A Copy” to find full text, storing and emailing search results and full text and options for Interlibrary Loan.

These tutorials provide instruction on the use of Academic Search Complete:

Searching for Articles by Topic

Locating Full Text Journal Articles

JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive of over 1000 academic journals. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available. Beginning in 2011, current issues for more than 150 journals will be available.

Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Look for OhioLINK Olinks (this is a link that appears below the citations in the results list)  to connect to the full-text in OhioLINK.

The  Electronic Journal Center provides electronic access to full text for online academic and research journals from multiple publishers and subject areas.  The EJC can be browsed for specific journals or searched for articles by author or topic.  Alerts may be set up for notification of new content from chosen journals, authors, or topics.

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection (or OvidSP) is a searchable collection of full-text journals in Nursing and Allied Health

Professors often place articles and other materials (ones that they expect to be in high demand) on reserve.  To check these out, ask at the circulation desk (filed by instructor name).  Reserves loan for 3 days or 2 hour use in the library.  Professors stipulate the loan length. 

Kentlink may be searched by professor name or course to see a reserve list.  Some reserves are online in KentLINK.