Services for Faculty: Home

The primary mission of the Library is to teach and advance critical thinking and research skills in partnership with the Kent State University (KSU) and Stark State College (SSC) communities. Contributing to the academic success of students and their preparation for lifelong learning is central to this mission. Our goal is to develop, support, and increase information literacy competencies among KSU's and SSC's diverse student body, faculty, and staff. 

The librarians strive to create a learning environment which encourages student academic success and which prepares them for lifelong learning in our information rich society. This web page is an overview of how the library provides instruction. Faculty may be particularly interested in reviewing it, as a way to help integrate library instruction into their teaching efforts.

Schedule a library instruction session using our Online Request Form.

The Library maintains print collections of books that are of special interest to the Kent State Stark community. When a title contains information of particular interest to the campus (as in the Archived Materials), the library attempts to obtain both a circulating copy of the title (one that users can checkout and take home to read) as well as an archived copy to preserve as part of the campus' historical record.

Additional information the Library's collections can be found here: https://libguides.library.kent.edu/Stark/Collections

Copyright Services provides the following services for current faculty, staff, and students:

• Research and clearance services for third-party copyrighted materials for use in a variety of projects and endeavors, including:
  • Teaching and learning
  • Presentations and poster sessions
  • Publication in books, dissertations, journal articles, multimedia, and other projects
  • Institutional repositories, including Open Access Kent State (OAKS)
• Instructional sessions for faculty, staff, and students.
• Informational responses to copyright and licensing questions.

For additional information on copyright services: https://www.library.kent.edu/about/departments/copyright-services

Contact Copyright Services

Cindy Kristof
Head, Copyright & Scholarly Communication
Associate Professor
330-672-1641 | ckristof@kent.edu

Statistical consulting helps faculty, staff, and student researchers learn to use statistical and qualitative data analysis software through one-on-one consulting sessions, workshops, and online tutorials. The service is free, and members from any discipline and any campus are welcome!

Additional information along with appointment registration can be found here: https://www.library.kent.edu/about/departments/statistical-consulting

Course Reserves provides Kent State faculty, students, and staff access to required and supplemental course readings and other materials while complying with copyright laws.

University Libraries can help instructors provide access to electronic and print course materials for Kent State students. Please submit any requests for course resources including books, videos, articles, etc., here.  Please include the instructor’s name, class number, and complete bibliographic information so we can find the materials as quickly as possible.

If an instructor is aware of a library resource that students depend on for their coursework, we will work to provide online access to these materials whenever possible.  Please submit the request here, and we will prioritize those materials that are specifically requested.

Instructors - if you need electronic material for Course Reserves including books, articles, or movies, please submit the request here reserves@kent.edu

Instructors - Requests for physical items on reserve at the Stark Campus Library can be made by contacting:

Brenna Schweizer
Circulation/Serials/Donations
Senior Library AssistantAssistant330-244-3248
bschweiz@kent.edu

Information regarding Plagiarism School, Plagiarism Workshops and Avoiding Plagiarism Tutorials can be found here: https://libguides.library.kent.edu/c.php?g=308508&p=10300635

Search our digital archives for student-run newspapers dating back to 1949, creative publications (Deja Vu and Canto), proceedings of the Annual Student Conference, and the Writing Center Review.