Collections: Home
Collections
The Library maintains print collections of books that are of special interest to the Kent State Stark community. When a title contains information of particular interest to the campus (as in the Archived Materials), the library attempts to obtain both a circulating copy of the title (one that users can checkout and take home to read) as well as an archived copy to preserve as part of the campus' historical record.
Archived Materials
The following collections are stored in the Library Director's Conference Room and can only be accessed by appointment. Click on the collections below to see a list of titles in the collection and access individual records in the KentLINK catalog.
- Rare Books: Books the library has obtained and determined to be rare because of their age, author signatures, limited printing, etc.
- Local History: Books in this collection were acquired specifically to reflect the interest of the surrounding geographical area.
- Featured Speakers: Every year the campus invites important speakers to campus. As a fixed part of this initiative, the library acquires materials authored by the speaker.
- Faculty Publications: Whenever a Kent State Stark faculty member (or staff member) authors a work, the library obtains a signed copy for its archives.
Leisure Reading
Best Sellers Review a list of books, audio books, and DVDs in KentLINK that were selected from the New York Times Best Seller list and other sources.These items are for local users, so they cannot be requested on KentLINK. Users must come in the library, retrieve a best seller from the shelves located on the first floor near our leisrure reading area, and check it out in person in the Stark Campus Library. Due to their anticipated popularity, these books have shorter loan periods than most other materials. The DVDs are for popular movies and television shows. Some are academy award winning movies.