Physical Therapy: Clinical Conditions I: Resources
Unacceptable Resources
Did You Know?
Credible health information sources will often provide additional terminology that you can use as search terms.
What other names do people use for Duchenne muscular dystrophy?
- DMD or DBMD
- Duchenne muscular dystrophy
- muscular dystrophy, Duchenne type
- muscular dystrophy, pseudohypertrophic
In addition, the selected sites will often provide hints to additional sources. Check out the quick links to this topic on the NIH website!
Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD): A Clinical Condition Research Example
- Duchenne & Becker Muscular DystrophySource: U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Muscular Dystrophy: Hope Through ResearchSource: National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke
- Duchenne Muscular DystrophySource: MedlinePlus
- Muscular DystrophySource: Center for Disease Control & Prevention
- Duchenne Muscular DystrophySource: Quick Lesson from CINAHL
- Cochrane review of interventions for increasing ankle flexibility in neuromuscular disorders.Source: Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy
Health Information Web Sites
Use these resources to Identify disease pathophysiology, clinical features, functional problems, secondary conditions, and, in some cases, medical management.
- Genetic Home ReferenceThe National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions. Includes condition information and links to additional sources of inforamtion.
- MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFind articles from over 2000 journals on topics including nursing, medicine, pre-clinical science, health policy, and biomedicine.
- Quick Lessons from CINAHLIncludes etiology, symptoms, risks, and assessments. *Click the link and click on the more found on the top of page. Look for quick lessons.*
- Move Forward: Consumer Symptom and Conditions GuideWebsite developed by the American Physical Therapy Association. Includes helpful further reading and references section.
Physical Therapy Journals
Research Databases
Use these resources to find relevant articles on medical management and physical therapy intervention.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Good resource for Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Respiratory Therapy and Radiologic Technology information.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines including physical therapy. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals.
- MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Find articles from over 2000 journals on topics including nursing, medicine, pre-clinical science, health policy, and biomedicine.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of several databases including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and topic-specific special collections.
Off Campus Access to Library Resources
Off-campus (or remote) access to the University Libraries’ electronic resources is provided through the KSU Proxy. KSU Proxy allows Library users to securely connect to databases, electronic journals, ebooks and streaming media services without installing complicated third-party software.
When you attempt to access library content from off campus, you’re prompted to enter your FlashLine username and password after which you’re connected. It’s that easy.