Respiratory Therapy: Basic Research Development: Research Databases
Quick Research Tips
Be Smart and Save Time!
Do not use sentences to search for information. Try using keywords and phrases.
Before you search a research database, think about alternative search terms (e.g. adolescents, youth, and young adults).
Keep notes on the research databases and the keywords you have used.
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
Quotes are helpful when your search terms include a phrase (e.g. "respiratory therapy").
Research Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFind articles on nursing and allied health topics including physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies and more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and research instruments records.
- Medline CompleteInternational index for medical literature, produced by the National Library of Medicine. Addresses all aspects of medicine and health care and offers citations from nearly 4,000 journals, books and book chapters, research and other sources. Includes citations originally found in the print indexes that date from 1950-1965.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowFind articles from 255 journals, some peer reviewed, on a variety of health-related topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, nursing management, medical law and more.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess journals and e-books from 1995 to present. Coverage includes content in engineering; humanities; and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of over 11,000 academic journals covering arts, humanities, math, medicine, science, engineering, computer science, and social sciences.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowPopular multi-disciplinary resource with access to over 40,000 scholarly articles.
Did You Know?
To find the entire text of an article look for the 
symbol. Clicking on it will automatically generate a search for the entire article in other library resources such as the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center and LexisNexis Academic.
Off Campus Access to Library Resources
Off-campus (or remote) access to the University Libraries’ electronic resources is now provided through a service known as KSU Proxy. It allows Library users to securely connect to databases, electronic journals, ebooks and streaming media services without installing complicated third-party software.
When you attempt to access library content from off campus, you’re prompted to enter your FlashLine username and password after which you’re connected. It’s that easy.