Introduction to Nursing Inquiry and Research: Research Databases
Quick Research Tips
Be Smart and Save Time!
Do not use sentences to search for information. Try using keywords and phrases.
Before you search a research database, think about alternative search terms (e.g. adolescents, youth, and young adults).
Keep notes on the research databases and the keywords you have used.
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
Quotes are helpful when your search terms include a phrase (e.g. "occupational therapy").
Research Databases
To search multiple journals at one time for scholarly and professional articles and nursing industry news use the links noted below.
Need access to electronic materials from home?
Off-campus (or remote) access to the University Libraries’ electronic resources is now provided through a new service known as KSU Proxy. KSU Proxy allows Library users to securely connect to databases, electronic journals, ebooks and streaming media services without installing complicated third-party software. When you attempt to access library content from off campus, you’re prompted to enter your FlashLine username and password after which you’re connected. It’s that easy.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowNursing and allied health literature and information, including such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship. Updated monthly.
- Medline CompleteInternational index for medical literature, produced by the National Library of Medicine. Addresses all aspects of medicine and health care and offers citations from nearly 4,000 journals, books and book chapters, research and other sources. Includes citations originally found in the print indexes that date from 1950-1965.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowFind articles from 255 journals, some peer reviewed, on a variety of health-related topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, nursing management, medical law and more.
- Evidence-Based Nursing (Journal)Published quarterly, the purpose of the journal is to select from the health related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice. The clinical relevance and rigor of the studies is assessed to identify research that is relevant to nursing.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles covering multiple subject areas including nursing.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowPopular multi-disciplinary resource with access to over 40,000 scholarly articles.
Research Database Tutorials
- How to Search the Cochrane Library VideoDesigned to provide a quick and informative overview and demonstration of The Cochrane Library.
- EbscoHost Advanced Search Guided HelpQuick overview on how to use the EbscoHost advanced search feature. Use for CINAHL, Medline, Health Source, and Academic Search Complete.
Research Strategy Tutorials
Tips for Developing Effective Research Strategies