Business Resources: Home

Books- Business Writing

E-resource books- click to access

Be sure to use the VPN to access these titles off campus

Consumer marketing 2014-2015 / by Kelli Washington and Richard K. Miller. - Current market research and statistics, an analysis of effectiveness, surveys of marketers and consumers, and discussions of trends are presented for each.

It's Not the Size of the Data -- It's How You Use It [electronic resource] : Smarter Marketingwith Analytics and Dashboards. - Brand tracking, CRM programs, trade shows, online behavior tracking, satisfaction studies...mounds of marketingmetrics are generated across touch points and channels.

Visual social marketing for dummies / by Krista Neher. - How to implement a best-in-class visual marketing plan. Visual Social Marketing For Dummies offers a clear road map for creating effective, well-defined visual social marketing strategies as part of your overall marketing and social media plans.

How can I access library resources if I'm not on campus?

Resources licensed by the Library require that users authenticate themselves as valid University users by entering their Flashline username and password when prompted.

Getting Help

For assistance in using any of these authentication methods, contact the University HelpDesk at the Kent Campus: 330-672-HELP(4357).

Welcome

Welcome to your course guide for English 21011.804: College Writing II- Consumerism in the United States.

The following are just a few of the recommended resources:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Dates of coverage: 1886 to present.
Thomson Reuters WRDS Access This link opens in a new window
Thomson Reuters is a global provider of data, analysis and information tools. WRDS is the access platform for a suite of databases/data sources related to finance.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Uni)
Access ended June 30, 2024.
Provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.

LexisNexis Country Profiles
Provides access to full text of reports and news about hundreds of countries, including the business and economic situation of a country, analysis of specific industries within a country, export market reports, potential political, financial and economic risks to business investments and trade, and news about a country. Includes global business content on 190 countries, their industries, and consumer trends.

ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window
Find information on 59 million U.S. businesses, searchable by company name, location, and detailed industry category. Lists size of company, top personnel, year established, type of business, credit rating, yearly sales ranges, and more.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search popular, scholarly, and trade publications. The content includes articles, reviews, interviews, biographies, corporate profiles, and professional reports. Coverage: 1982 to present.

TED Talks about Consumerism

Research today takes many forms. Use quality resources in different formats to help better understand your topic.

TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Along with two annual conferences, TED includes the award-winning TED Talks video site, the Open Translation Project and TED Conversations, and much more.

Librarian

Tammie Beaber