HIST 12071 The Modern Period (Li): Websites

Your librarian has created this page to offer websites that have been thoroughly evaluated. These websites meet the criteria you found in the "Evaluating Websites" tab.

Each of the sites to your left offer information in your subject area that has been reviewed by a librarian.

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History- 1945- Present-  Founded in 1994 by Richard Gilder and Lewis E. Lehrman, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is a nonprofit organization devoted to the improvement of history education. 

American Memory (Library of Congress)Search or browse a large collection of full text works, images, videos, and audio recordings regarding aspects of U.S. history.

American Women Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the U.S.

Avalon Project (Yale University)Mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Search or browse the Federalist Papers, the Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, Inaugural addresses of the Presidents, Colonial Charters and related documents, and hundreds of others from ancient to modern times.

Franklin D. Roosevelt Library: Fireside ChatsTranscripts of FDR's fireside chats

Lyndon B. Johnson Library: Oral History Transcripts Oral histories regarding the LBJ years available for downloading in Adobe Acrobat format.

TheHistoryNet Articles Several hundred full text articles from history journals, searchable by keyword or browsable by journal

Best of History Web Sites-American History- Contains web site links that have been evaluated and are considered to be among the best history web sites.  For each web site, there is an annotation describing the site.

Library of Anglo-American Culture and Hisotry- The History Guide contains metadata of so-called thematic websites. This means websites which provide open access to historically relevant materials: Texts, either source materials or publications, maps, images, audiovisual materials etc. Partially the catalogue makes also accessible single digital documents like electronic theses, digitized out-of-copyright books or websites of institutions of relevance for historians like archives, libraries, history departments etc..

National Museum of American History- The Smithsonian's National Museum of American History dedicates its collections and scholarship to inspiring a broader understanding of our nation and its many peoples. We create opportunities for learning, stimulate imaginations, and present challenging ideas about our country’s past.