Stark Campus Communication Studies Writing Format Policy: Databases: Articles & More
What is a database?
What is a database and why should I use one?
A library database is an online collection of sources, usually these are academic articles, news articles, and magazine articles, but they can also contain e-books, encyclopedia entries, digital films, and more.
Library databases provide students and researchers with access to credible and reliable information for their studies and projects.
Communication Studies Databases
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch over 120,000 article and book abstracts in communications studies from 1915 to present.
- Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles on a wide range of communication topics.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008 - Current)A comprehensive reference source written by established experts and researchers. Covers broad subject areas of media (media economy; media effects, media law and policy, media production, media systems); communication (educational, intercultural, international, interpersonal, organizational, political, visual); theory and philosophy; feminist and gender studies; research methods; rhetorical studies; public relations and advertising; journalism; and others.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFind articles on communication and mass media topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Explore controversial issues from multiple perspectives. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Supports browsing by topic and keyword search. - PsycINFO (EBSCO Interface) This link opens in a new windowSearch for academic articles, books, and dissertations in all areas of psychology and behavioral sciences. Contains full-text for some items. Coverage: 1800s to present.
Journal Finder
- Journal FinderSearch for publications by title.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanLibraries all over the world participate in Interlibrary Loan (ILL) in a cooperative effort to provide articles, books, and other materials to researchers, students, and others.
Free-of-charge Interlibrary Loan and electronic article delivery are offered to all current Kent State faculty, staff, and students. Community Borrowers and Alumni will be charged $10 per filled request.