Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet: Library Resources: Finding Books and Articles
Keywords
Here are a few sample search terms. Note that single or multiple keywords are searched, rather than a long sentence. In instances where AND is included, type the search terms on multiple lines. The results you retrieve from the database will help you find other terms to search.
This list is in no way complete. Let the database provide you with synonyms and other words to search, in order to let your topic evolve.
- Chinese Americans AND parenting
- Japanese Americans AND world war 2
- Racism AND [any theme or ethnic group from book]
- Sino-Japanese War
- United States AND Xenophobia
- Executive Order 9066
- War Relocation Authority
- Japanese Americans and concentration camps
- Rape of Nanjing (or Nanking)
Finding articles using a research database
Articles from databases:
- Academic Search CompleteProvides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly and general news publications covering multiple disciplines. Updated daily.
- JSTORFull-text articles focusing on the arts, humanities, and social sciences
- New York Times - HistoricalContains New York Times articles from 1851 to 2 years ago.
Article not available full-text? Click 
Websites
- JARDAArchive featuring articles, photos, historic documents about Japanese relocation from the University of California
- DenshoExtensive blog about Japanese-Americans includes first-hand narratives, photos, and documents
- National Archives: Japanese-American Relocation and InternmentIncludes many links and articles on the experiences of Japanese-Americans during World War II
Help with MLA Style
- Purdue University OWL MLA Style Guide, 9th editionLearn how to format a MLA research paper, create in-text citations, and cite sources.
- MLA 9th Edition Style CenterGives an overview of the MLA Handbook, 9th edition.
Citation Generators
Citation generators are convenient but may contain errors. Always check your citations with the MLA Handbook or with a reputable website, such as the Purdue OWL.
- Citation MachineCitation Machine is a free interactive web tool designed to assist in generating citations in MLA and other publication styles.
- CitefastCite your work in APA, MLA and Chicago. Includes helpful suggestions for proper formatting.