LGBT: Getting Started

Welcome

Welcome to the LGBT guide. This guide highlights library resources that may be helpful to you as you conduct research and work on assignments.

Popular Databases

Popular databases are listed below. Find additional databases under the Databases: Articles & More tab.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Search the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, and more. Coverage: 1972-present.
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search the LGBT Life database as well as the full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. Includes an LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on sociology topics.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access for library resources for Kent State Students at Stark is provided through a service called the KSU Proxy. More information about the KSU Proxy can be found here: https://www.library.kent.edu/help/connect-from-off-campus

Discovery at Kent State

Library Hours

Fall 2024

Aug. 19 - Dec. 6
Monday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Closed Sept. 2, Nov. 11 and Nov. 28-29.
Closing at 5 p.m. on Oct. 3 and Nov. 27.

Final Exam Week: Dec. 9 - 13
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.