English: Getting Started

Welcome

Welcome to the English guide. This guide highlights library resources that may be helpful to you as you conduct research and work on assignments.

Popular Databases

Popular databases are listed below. Find additional databases under the Databases: Articles & More tab.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly materials for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. Coverage: early 20th century to present.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Discover information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. This full-text database includes major respected reference works, books, literary journals, study guides, and more.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access for library resources for Kent State Students at Stark is provided through a service called the KSU Proxy. More information about the KSU Proxy can be found here: https://www.library.kent.edu/help/connect-from-off-campus

Discovery at Kent State

Library Hours

Fall 2024

Aug. 19 - Dec. 6
Monday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Closed Sept. 2, Nov. 11 and Nov. 28-29.
Closing at 5 p.m. on Oct. 3 and Nov. 27.

Final Exam Week: Dec. 9 - 13
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.