This site provides an interactive guide to the human body--the brain, heart, skeleton, and digestive system. Included are dynamic images and anatomical cross-sections, animated quizzes, and a build a skeleton feature. Provided by MEDtropolis, the site is available in both English and Spanish.
This site is provided by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry and has been designed to aid both patient and caregiver "to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases." This non-commercial site provides peer-reviewed information.
These instructional modules and videos are produced by the University of Virginia School of Medicine and provide demonstrations of physical exam techniques. Viewing requires Quicktime version 7 or higher.
Medical Mnemonics.com is a free, nonprofit, online searchable database of memory-boosting tools to assist in mastering medical information. The database can be downloaded to a personal digital assistant.
This project was commissioned by The European Commission and executed by Heymans Institute of Pharmacology and Mercator School, Department of Applied Linguistics. Languages covered are: Dansk (Danish), Deutsche (German), English, Español (Spanish), Français (French), Italiano (Italian), Nederlands (Dutch), Português (Portuguese).
Created by the National Human Genome Research Institute, this glossary assists in the understanding of the terms and concepts used in genetic research. Included are spoken pronunciations of terms, expert commentary, and 3-D animations.
Useful site to identify the individuals for whom diseases, syndromes, etc. are named. The site intends to "present a complete survey of all medical phenomena named for a person, with a biography of that person. Eventually, this will include more than 15.000 eponyms and more than 6.000 persons."
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including the most recent labeling information submitted to the FDA and provided in package inserts. Included is a link for the reporting of adverse events.
An interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based information resource for professionals, researchers, and general public.
Provides information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications through two drug resources -- MedMaster™†, a product of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and the USP DI® Advice for the Patient® ‡, a product of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP).
The primary goal of the CAHPS Item Set for Addressing Health Literacy is to measure, from the patients’ perspective, how well health information is communicated to them by health care professionals. The Item Set for Addressing Health Literacy consists of 29 supplemental items designed for use with the CAHPS Clinician & Group Survey.
This is a free, online course for health professionals designed to improve patient communication; increase awareness of health literacy, cultural competency, and low English proficiency; and to implement patient-centered communication practices to address those areas.
This site contains photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It is intended to serve public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the public with their reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
This 1999 centennial edition of the Manual covers all the subjects expected in a textbook of internal medicine as well as expert information relating to special subjects. It is designed to provide "information that helps practitioners achieve optimal care." Material is presented in 23 sections and is completely searchable.
This publication focuses on the medical problems of the elderly, providing clinical information to all physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and other health care professionals involved in the care of elderly patients. Non-health care professionals will also find this publication extremely useful."