Nursing & Allied Health Resources: Research Databases
Quick Research Tips
Be Smart and Save Time!
Do not use sentences to search for information. Try using keywords and phrases.
Before you search a research database, think about alternative search terms (e.g. adolescents, youth, and young adults).
Keep notes on the research databases and the keywords you have used.
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
Quotes are helpful when your search terms include a phrase (e.g. "occupational therapy").
Research Databases
To search multiple journals at one time for scholarly and professional articles and nursing industry news use the links noted below.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFind articles on nursing and allied health topics including physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies and more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and research instruments records.
- Medline CompleteInternational index for medical literature, produced by the National Library of Medicine. Addresses all aspects of medicine and health care and offers citations from nearly 4,000 journals, books and book chapters, research and other sources. Includes citations originally found in the print indexes that date from 1950-1965.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowFind articles from 255 journals, some peer reviewed, on a variety of health-related topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, nursing management, medical law and more.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of over 11,000 academic journals covering arts, humanities, math, medicine, science, engineering, computer science, and social sciences.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO Interface) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles in psychology, psychiatry and mental health.