Skip to Main Content

National History Day Help: May 4 Collection: Finding Digitized Resources

Kent State Shootings: Digital Archive

The Kent State Shootings Digital Archive, created and maintained by the department of Special Collections and Archives, includes thousands of items selected from the May 4 Collection that have been put into digital format. This digital archive enables you to search for materials in several different ways such as by subject, geographical location, sub-collection, or keyword. It provides a centralized place to browse or search for images, documents, and is a great place to start your exploration of the May 4 Collection.


Access the Kent State Shootings: Digital Archive

Research Tip

Students: The digital archive site can be a bit overwhelming as it contains thousands of pages of digital content. Please also view the Locating Sources - Primary Sources page for more information on finding digital sources via our Collections Content page.

 

Kent State Shootings: Oral Histories

The Kent State Shootings Oral History project is a long-term project administered by Kent State University Special Collections and Archives that seeks to capture audio oral histories relating to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath to the present day. This collection has over 130 oral history recordings by a variety of narrators from those who were Kent State students or faculty members, community members in the City of Kent, and Ohio National Guard personnel at the time of the shootings. The collection includes some eyewitness accounts of the events of May 4, 1970. Accompanying the audio recordings are full-text transcripts of the content of each recording.

We offer various ways to browse these recordings, including by subject area discussed, narrator's role (e.g. student; community member), and narrator name.


Access the Kent State Shootings: Oral Histories digital portal