Useful links on how to write research papers:
Cornell University
https://gradschool.cornell.edu/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/WritingAB_WEB.pdf
Purdue University
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/658/1/
University of Wisconsin
http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/PlanResearchPaper.html
Ten simple rules for writing research papers by Weixiong Zhang
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3907284/
SUNY Empire State College
https://www.esc.edu/online-writing-center/resources/research/research-paper-steps/
A Research Guide for Students
English for Writing Research Papers by
Publishing your research in an international journal is key to your success in academia. This guide is based on a study of over 1000 manuscripts and reviewers' reports revealing why papers written by non-native researchers are often rejected due to problems with English usage and poor structure and content. With easy-to-follow rules and tips, and examples taken from published and unpublished papers, you will learn how to: prepare and structure a manuscript increase readability and reduce the number of mistakes you make in English by writing concisely, with no redundancy and no ambiguity write a title and an abstract that will attract attention and be read decide what to include in the various parts of the paper (Introduction, Methodology, Discussion etc) highlight your claims and contribution avoid plagiarism discuss the limitations of your research choose the correct tenses and style satisfy the requirements of editors and reviewers This new edition contains over 40% new material, including two new chapters, stimulating factoids, and discussion points both for self-study and in-class use. EAP teachers will find this book to be a great source of tips for training students, and for preparing both instructive and entertaining lessons. Other books in the series cover: presentations at international conferences; academic correspondence; English grammar, usage and sty≤ interacting on campus, plus exercise books and a teacher's guide to the whole series. Please visit http://www.springer.com/series/13913 for a full list of titles in the series. Adrian Wallwork is the author of more than 30 ELT and EAP textbooks. He has trained several thousand PhD students and academics from 35 countries to write research papers,& prepare presentations, and communicate with editors, referees and fellow researchers.
Writing Research Papers by
The definitive research paper guide, Writing Research Papers combines a traditional and practical approach to the research process with the latest information on electronic research and presentation.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today’s writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
The following links provide information on annotated bibliographies- definitions, components as well as samples. They are taken from Kent State University Libraries website as well other credible sources such as other writing centers from other Universities and Colleges.
Caution: Do not use a commercial website that offers to write your annotated bibliography for a fee.
Kent State University- https://libguides.library.kent.edu/annotatedbib
Purdue University- https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/03/
Cornell University- http://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography
Skidmore University- http://lib.skidmore.edu/library/index.php/li371-annotated-bib
Ashford University- https://awc.ashford.edu/tocw-sample-annotated-bibliography.html
University of Southern California- http://libguides.usc.edu/writingguide/annotatedbibliography
University of Wisconsin- https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/assignments/annotatedbibliography/
Easy Bib
http://www.easybib.com/guides/annotated-bibliographies/
Samples:
University of North Carolina- http://writingcenter.unc.edu/handouts/annotated-bibliographies/mla-examples/
Utah Valley University- https://www.uvu.edu/writingcenter/docs/handouts/common_assignments/annotatedbibliography.pdf
On Google advanced search: https://www.google.com/advanced_search
Click on images on your result screen
The writing commons is located on the 4th Floor in the Library. Here, students can get help with any writing related questions. Sessions typically last 30-45 minutes depending on the goals the student has for the session; these may include editing your paper for clarity and language related issues such as spelling and grammar. Students can schedule an in-person appointment, online writing lab appointment or an online Google Chat appointment. Please visit the link above for more information and resources at the Writing Commons.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account