LibGuides: Graphic Novels, Graphic Narratives, Comic Books Research Guide: Research Tools

The Libraries' Graphic Novel and Comics Collection

The libraries' collect both graphic novels and comic books themselves, as well as commentary, criticism and history of the genres as well. To search for materials in the Kent State Libraries' Graphic Novels and Comics Collection, use the KentLINK catalog. The following is a pre-built search for materials with a related subject heading:

KentLINK items with a subject heading related to Graphic Novels or Comic Books

E-books

E-books- Graphic Novels-Criticism
Follow this link to be taken to e-books available to Kent State users about the graphic novel genre. If you are off campus you will be asked to authenticate as a KSU user before being taken into the ebook.
Internet Archive- Comics and Graphic Novels section
The Internet Archive provides access to titles free of charge. You must create an account to access the material.

Recommended Research Databases

The following research databases are a good place to start for information and criticism of graphic novel and comics.

Discovery@KentState Tool
This Discovery Layer tool searches the KentLINK and OhioLINK catalogs and well over 150 databases simultaneously. It is the default search on the library homepage.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This core database in literary studies will be a key tool to finding scholarly commentary on works in the graphic format.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature brings together Gale's literary databases in one search interface. Currently allows for federated searching and access to Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors and Something About the Author.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. This full-text database includes major respected reference works, books, literary journals, study guides, and more.

Journals

Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics
"Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics covers all aspects of the graphic novel, comic strip and comic book focusing primarily, but not exclusively, on the twentieth and the twenty-first centuries. The emphasis is on the production and consumption of comics in their cultural, institutional and creative contexts."
The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship
"The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship is an open access, open peer review academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship. The journal aims to make original contributions to the field of comics studies and to advance the appreciation of graphic narrative."

Special Collections and Archives

Kent State Libraries Special Collections and Archives houeses the following special collections related to comics and graphic novels:

Websites

The following are websites for organizations focusing on materials in the graphic format.

Comics and Graphic Narratives- MLA Discussion Group
Website of a discussion group of the Modern Language Association dedicated to graphic formats.
Will Eisner Awards
The Comic Industry's highest awards. Given out at the San Diego Comic-con each year.
Great Graphic Novels Lists- From YALSA, the Young Adult Library Services Association
A list of top recommended books in graphic format for young adult readers, age 12-18. Compiled by YALSA, a division of the American Library Association.
Let's Get Graphic: 100 Favorite Comics And Graphic Novels
Looking for recommended reading? Take a look at this list compiled by NPR in 2017.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Graphic Novels, Graphic Narratives, Comic Books Research Guide: Research Tools

Graphic Novels and Comics

Highlights from the Collection

The Libraries' Graphic Novel and Comics Collection

KentLINK items with a subject heading related to Graphic Novels or Comic Books

E-books

Recommended Research Databases

Journals

Special Collections and Archives

Websites

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information