Skip to main content

Nurse Educator Resources: Search Tips for EBP Resources

Search Tips: EBP Resources

The boxes on this page offer you tips for effectively searching suggested databases for "secondary" resources, including clinical practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and other preappraised literature.

Search Tips: The Cochrane Library

"Independent high-quality evidence for health care decision making"

The primary database in the Cochrane Library is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews which summarize the results of high quality research on effectiveness of interventions.

The FULL text of each review is included in the database -- click on the right of the article entry to download a PDF copy.

You can begin your search using the "simple" search box in the upper left of the Cochrane Library homepage by entering keyword(s) which will be searched in the titles and abstracts of the database records. This search also looks for semantic and spelling variants for your search words. Also browse using a topical approach using the box on the left of the screen.

Search Tips: PubMed Health

Try this new resource from the National Library of Medicine!

PubMedHealth specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, showing what treatments and prevention methods have been proven to work—and what remains unknown. Content of interest to you includes clinical guidelines from partner organizations, DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) reviews, executive summaries of government agency reports, and full text reviews.

There are a number of ways to search PubMed Health:

  • Search using KEYWORDS by typing in the search box at the top of any page on the site.
  • Browse by clicking on the "Contents" pull down menu and view A to Z lists of various resources by type.

Search Tips: The National Guideline Clearinghouse

"Objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines"

The NGC provides structured, standardized guideline summaries containing information derived from guidelines using the NGC Template of Guideline Attributes. Guidelines must meet the NGC Inclusion Criteria to be included on the NGC site.

To get a copy of a guideline summarized in the NGC, look for the "Identifying Information and Availability" section of the guideline summary for information on obtaining the guideline fulltext. A link to the fulltext may be provided. If the guideline is in a journal article, use the KSU Journal Finder to locate the article.

Here are three ways to search the NGC database:

Search Tips: PubMed Clinical Queries

The "Systematic Reviews" search in PubMed Clinical Queries targets your MEDLINE search to retrieve not only systematic reviews, but also meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine products, consensus development conferences, AND guidelines. PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature.

Use this two step process to get to the PubMed Clinical Queries search screen:

  • Start your search at the special KSU PubMed URL so that the FindIt icon for identifying KSU article access will be displayed in article abstracts.
  • Next, click on the Clinical Queries link in the center column of the screen under PubMed Tools.

After you search, the results of the targeted "Systematic Reviews" search will display in the center column. Click on "See all" at the bottom to view the entire search result.

You can view the entire citation, including the abstract and FindIt icon, for an article of interest by clicking on the article title. Alternatively, you can change the display for all the citations on a page by selecting the "Abstract" format by clicking "Display Settings." See here to learn all about displaying your search results.