Provides information about the lives and careers of authors from all genres and eras. Also includes biographical and critical studies written by scholars, as well as suggestions for further readings and author bibliographies.
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC Plus combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and more.
Contains entries from over 100 major discipline-related dictionaries and other publications from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes the sciences, foreign languages, art and architecture, politics, business, literature and more.
Online access to Salem Press' Critical Insights and Critical Surveys series, providing analytical essays on key literary authors and literary works written in the English language. Also provides access to Salem Press' Great Events From History Series as well as to Milestone Historical Documents.
Relevant Web Sites, Societies and Archival collections
From folk ballads to film scripts, this new five-volume encyclopedia covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
Notable British Novelists consists of biographical sketches and career analysis of 104 of the most studied English, Scottish, and Irish writers of long fiction from the 15th through the 20th centuries.
An anthology of classic and cutting-edge statements in literary theory. All the major schools and methods that make up the dynamic field of literary theory are represented, from Formalism to Postcolonialism
A Brontë Encyclopedia is an A- Z encyclopedia of the most notable literary family of the 19th century highlighting original literary insights and the significant people and places that influenced the Brontës' lives.