As the media increases in use as our prime source for information and values, there is a great need to impart methods to critically evaluate all aspects of film, television, the Internet, advertising, radio, and print media. Silverblatt, Ferry, and Finan's innovative text offers various critical methods and approaches to media literacy, including autobiographical, ideological, nonverbal, and mythic approaches. Each chapter presents in detail a full description of the approach followed by an essay applying the approach to an analysis of a media presentation.
The ^IDictionary of Media Literacy^R is a reference work that contains key concepts, terms, organizations, issues, and individuals of note related to the field of media literacy. Media literacy is an international movement, with many countries developing media literacy programs. This work significantly contributes to the study and understanding of this new and evolving field. In that we all live in a world in which we are inundated by information conveyed through the channels of mass commmunication, this dictionary will be a resource for scholars, students, and individuals seeking to understand information delivered in this context.
In this 'new media age' the screen has replaced the book as the dominant medium of communication. This dramatic change has made image, rather than writing, the centre of communication. In this groundbreaking book, Gunther Kress considers the effects of a revolution that has radically altered the relationship between writing and the book. Taking into account social, economic, communication and technological factors, Kress explores how these changes will affect the future of literacy. Kress considers the likely larger-level social and cultural effects of that future, arguing that the effects of the move to the screen as the dominant medium of communication will produce far-reaching shifts in terms of power - and not just in the sphere of communication. The democratic potentials and effects of the new information and communication technologies will, Kress contends, have the widest imaginable consequences. Literacy in the New Media Age is suitable for anyone fascinated by literacy and its wider political and cultural implications. It will be of particular interest to those studying education, communication studies, media studies or linguistics.
This book examines recent changes in media education and in young people's lives, and provides an accessible set of principles on which the media curriculum should be based, with a clear rationale for pedagogic practice. David Buckingham is one of the leading international experts in the field - he has more than twenty years' experience in media education as a teacher and researcher. This book takes account of recent changes both in the media and in young people's lives, and provides an accessible and cogent set of principles on which the media curriculum should be based. Introduces the aims and methods of media education or 'media literacy'. Includes descriptions of teaching strategies and summaries of relevant research on classroom practice. Covers issues relating to contemporary social, political and technological developments.
Media education for digital citizenship is predicated upon the ability to access, analyze, evaluate and produce media content and communication in a variety of forms. While many media literacy approaches overemphasize the end-goal of accessing digital media content through the acquisition of various technology, software, apps and analytics, this book argues that the goals for comprehensive and critical digital literacy require grasping the means through which communication is created, deployed, used, and shared, regardless of which tools or platforms are used for meaning making and social interaction. Drawing upon the intersecting matrices of digital literacy and media literacy, the volume provides a framework for developing critical digital literacies by exploring the necessary skills and competencies for engaging students as citizens of the digital world.
Media Literacy teaches readers how to navigate through the overwhelming flood of information found in today's media-saturated world. Drawing from thousands of media research studies, author W. James Potter explores the key components to understanding the fascinating world of mass media. Potter presents numerous examples and facts to help readers understand how the media operate, how they attract attention, and how they influence the public. The Ninth Edition has been thoroughly updated to evolve with the ever-changing media landscape and features a new chapter on fake news, debating what we as news consumers can do to recognize fake news in order to avoid its influence. Each chapter concludes with a set of exercises to help readers apply the chapter material to everyday life and engage in a step-by-step process to increase their own media literacy.
Covering print, photography, film, radio, television, and new media, this textbook instructs readers on how to take a critical approach to media and interpret the information overload that is disseminated via mass communication. This fourth edition of Keys to Interpreting Media Messages supplies a critical and qualitative approach to media literacy analysis. Now updated with conceptual changes, current examples, updated references, and coverage of new developments in media-- particularly in digital, interactive forms--this book addresses all forms of information disseminated via mass communication. Organized into three sections, the book first presents a theoretical framework for the critical analysis of media text that covers the definition of media literacy as well as fundamental principles and concepts. Part II focuses on the application of this methodological framework to the analysis of advertising, journalism, American political communications, and interactive media. Part III considers specific mass media issues, such as violence in the media, media and children, and global communications, and discusses outcomes of having a media-literate population. Supplies clear explanation of media literacy theory and guidance on interpreting modern mass media from leading scholars Represents a highly effective tool for achieving a key aspect of media literacy: enabling students to decipher information and independently reach opinions and positions without relying on the pervasive influence of the media Provides critical examination of controversial, current topics such as violence in the media and the intersections of media and social change
Seires: Strategies for Educators
Originally released by Makematic, 2018
Streaming video file encoded with permission for digital streaming by Infobase on October 28, 2019
This video gives educators strategies on how to build media literacy in the classroom
This book, part of the BEA Electronic Media Research Series, brings together top scholars researching media literacy and lays out the current state of the field in areas such as propaganda, news, participatory culture, representation, education, social/environmental justice, and civic engagement. The field of media literacy continues to undergo changes and challenges as audiences are reconceptualized and reconfigured, media industries are transformed and replaced, and the production of media texts is available to anyone with a smartphone. The book provides an overview of these. It offers readers specific examples and recommendations to help others as they develop their own teaching and research agendas. Media Literacy in a Disruptive Media Environment will be of great interest to scholars and graduate students studying media literacy through the lens of broadcasting, communication studies, media and cultural studies, film, and digital media studies.
Though media literacy and information literacy are intertwined, there are important differences; and there has never been a more urgent need for an incisive examination of the crucial role librarians and other educators can play in teaching the skills necessary to access, analyze, evaluate, and create media. Media literate youth and adults are better able to understand the complex messages emanating from television, movies, radio, the internet, news outlets, magazines, books, billboards, video games, music, and all other forms of media. In this book, international expert De Abreu melds advice from a diverse array of practitioners and subject experts with her own research findings to examine how consuming media and technology impacts the learning of K-12 students, tackling such paramount issues as fake news/alternative facts; critical thinking digital literacy and digital citizenship; social inclusion and equity; global interconnectivity; and social justice and advocacy. Inside, readers will find a wealth of intelligently crafted, ready-to-use lesson plans and activities designed to help promote critical thinking skills for K-12 students, making this a perfect teaching resource for school and public librarians, educators, and literacy instructors. Each group of lesson plans is prefaced by a well-informed and insightful discussion of the concept at hand along with guidance on how to best use the lesson plans, which can be freely adapted to any setting.
Revisiting Richard Hoggart's classic work The Uses of Literacy (1957), this book applies Hoggart's framework to media literacy today, examining media literacy's various uses, the tensions between them and what this means for people, communities and the contemporary configurations of social class. In The Uses of Literacy (1957), Richard Hoggart wrote about how his working class community, in the North of England, were at once using the new 'mass literacy' for self-improvement, education, social mobility and civic engagement and, at the same time, the powerful were seizing the opportunity also to use this expansion in literacy, through the new popular culture, for commercial and political ends. Working in the intersection between education, cultural studies and literacies, the authors write about media literacy as a contested, under-theorised field through Hoggart's 'line of sight' to provide a perspective on media literacy and working class culture today. This reimagining of a classic work, piercingly relevant to studies of class in Britain in 2019, will be of key interest to scholars in Media Studies, as well as interested readers in Communication Studies, Literacy Studies, Cultural Studies, Politics and Sociology.
Help your students become less vulnerable to the influence of media on their attitudes and behavior through media education. After defining visual literacy and tracing the history of the movement associated with it, the authors provide effective strategies, activities, and resources that help students learn the critical-viewing skills and media literacy necessary in our media-oriented world. Various media and types of programs are addressed, including motion pictures, television news, and advertising. Activities are coded by grade level and curriculum area.