Writing Across the Curriculum: Discipline-Specific Resources: Nursing Resources
Welcome Nursing Majors!
Here you will find resources for writing in the field of nursing, ranging from APA guidelines, concise writing guides, and more.
"Writing in the Field of Nursing" Guides and Resources
Kent State Nursing
College of Nursing - Stay updated on Kent's College of Nursing webpage!
Resource Guide for Nurse Researchers - Learn about navigating a research project, finding the appropriate sources, locating funding, and more.
"Writing as a Nurse" Overview - Purdue OWL
Image by StockSnap from Pixabay
Nursing Databases
Each of these databases with retrieve scholarly and research articles from 1,000s of different Nursing and Allied Health Journals
- CINAHLThe premier source for Journal articles for all Allied Health Fields. Provides access to nursing and allied health literature and information, including such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship. Updated monthly.
- MedLine CompleteSearch the National Library of Medicine's database which is the primary database to use to identify professional journal articles about medical and health science topics. This database has the same search software interface as the CINAHL database.
- PubMedPubMed provides free, worldwide access to MEDLINE. Accessing PubMed through this URL will provide links to online, full-text articles available through Kent State University Libraries subscriptions
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is comprised of several databases that identify research at varying levels of evidence. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
- Lippincott, Williams and WilkinsThis is an exclusive collection of more than one hundred full-text journals published by LWW in nursing and related health fields.
- Health Source (Academic edition)Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Connect to CINAHL Tutorials Connect to PubMed Tutorials
Characteristics of Writing in the Nursing Field
What does writing in the nursing field entail?
- Being concise
- Evidence-based writing
- Supported by credible research
- Professionalism
- Following APA guidelines
Off-Campus Access
You can access KentLINK, OhioLINK, and the Research Databases from any computer with access to the World Wide Web. Due to licensing restrictions, you will be required to authenticate yourself as a valid University user to access some resources.
The University's Virtual Private Network (VPN) allows you to connect to the campus network as if you were on campus. Refer to the Off Campus Access section of the Library home page or click here for details.