Fundamentals of Marketing Technology: Marketing Resources
Getting Started
Developing a Research Plan
Now that you have identified a service or a product, you need to determine a plan for your research.
- Review the assignment requirements to map out your marketing research plan.
- Determine which resources will help you find the answers to the questions in your plan.
- Begin collecting data and develop additional questions to address missing information.
- Examine information – take notes – find additional information.
- Begin writing the first drafts of your reports.
- Review the assignment requirements to see if all the elements are in your first draft.
Where can I find out information about the company and its products?
- Company and product reports and profiles
- Annual and earning reports and market announcements
- Journal and industry articles
- Newspaper articles and media
- Credible websites
Business News & Industry Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Has full text for more than 10,300 serials. Contains scholarly publications covering all disciplines of business including marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, and MIS. Additional materials include country economic reports, case studies company profiles, SWOT analyses and industry reports. Coverage varies by title, but in general dates back to the mid 1990s. Updated daily.
Click the blue 'additional information' icon to search Business Videos only. - Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Market Share Reporter Online This link opens in a new windowEntries in this directory provide market share data and rankings of companies, products, and services. Enter the product name to find relevant market share information, if available.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva is a good source for international business and company news. It includes full text news reports from more than 10,000 sources from 159 countries and available in 22 languages.
Market Research & Industry Reports
- Mintel Market Research Reports This link opens in a new windowProvides research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. The reports analyze market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. The reports are supplemented by brief digests of relevant recent events, UK and US demographic and economic statistics and useful lists.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowAccess is available for Kent campus only.Provides detailed information about industries. Offers lengthy research reports on industry markets, brief reports on business environments, and company profiles.
- RKMA Market Research ReportsPublishes ebooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace.
Corporate Industry Reports
- Deloitte Industry ReportsProvides key trends, challenges, and opportunities that may impact a business and influence its strategy.
General Library Resources
- Ashtabula Campus LibraryThis link provides direct access to the Ashtabula Campus Library site.
- Library TutorialsThese tutorials provide information on how to search Kentlink, use the research databases, and avoid plagiairsm.
KSU Marketing Research Library Quick Links
The following quick links provide access to Kent State University library guides created for business related research and could prove useful for finding materials for marketing research.