This is the "Welcome" page of the "Scopus Citation Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Scopus Citation Searching  

This guide help users perform citation searching and author and journal title evaluations using the Scopus tools.
Last Updated: Aug 24, 2012 URL: http://libguides.library.kent.edu/scopus Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

Information about this guide

This libguide is designed to help Kent State users to navigate Scopus. Scopus  is a citation database that provides access to the cited references of a work and tracking the publications who cite a work in a similar way to ISI Web of Science and its Citation Indexes.

While Scopus does cover many journals that ISI does not, the strongest coverage in the sciences. For information on a specific discipline, refer to the coverage guide at: http://www.info.sciverse.com/resource-library.

It also provides metrics similar to the ISI Journal Citation Reports. It gives author and journal ranking analysis. Most of the citation data and ranking is based on information since 1996.

Scopus uses its H index as a measure of citations for journals and authors along with two journal analysis tools that can be found under the SOURCES section of Scopus. Scopus also provices two of its own impact/ ranking tools for both journals and authors.

  • SJR SCImago Journal Rank: This is a prestige based rank that uses the quality and reputation of the journal.
  • SNIP Source Normalized Impact per Paper: This a measure of impact by weighting a citation based on the total number of citations in a subject area (in Scopus).

The Other Useful Journal Information page provides information on resources such as Cabells Directory of Publishing Opportunities and Ulrich's Periodicals Directory, which contain information that can be helpful when preparing RTP files. The page on Citation Indexes provides information on finding out how often your articles have been cited by works included in Web of Science. The page on Publish or Perish provides information on this free web based tool for compiling information on your citations and also different citation measures such as the H-index.

Information on this guide was adapted from a guide created by the University of Michigan Libraries. That guide may be found at    http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=98218&search_terms=citation+research

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Edith Scarletto
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
University Library
Room 161
330-672-1674 (AM)

Map Library
410 McGilvrey Hall
330-672-2017 (PM)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip