- American & English Literature: Poetry, Drama and Prose
Contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print. Collections include: African-American Poetry 1700-1900; 20th Century African-American Poetry; American Poetry 1600-1900; 20th Century American Poetry; English Poetry; 20th Century English Poetry; American Drama; English Prose Drama 1280-1915; English Verse Dramas 13th-19th Centuries; Early American Fiction 1774-1850; 18th Century Fiction 1700-1800; Bibliography of American Literature; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; William Butler Yeats Collection; The Bible in English.
- Annual Reviews
Contains critical reviews of significant primary literature in the areas of biology, biomedicine, chemistry, physics, sociology, and related disciplines. Published yearly, this is the online, full-text version of the printed Annual Review of...series. (1998 - present)
Provides access to numerous works of literature, reference, and verse, including Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, the King James Version of the Bible, the 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare, Gray's Anatomy, Strunk's Elements of Style, and the CIA World Factbook.
- Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken. Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history—The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution—this resource features full-text search capabilities, canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles, and works by both well-known and lesser-known authors. From books and directories, to Bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, Eighteenth Century Collections Online features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.
- Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Contains thousands of scholarly and reference e-books in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
This site lists free online computer science, engineering and programming books, text books and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the internet.
A Web site that provides access to thousands of literary works by well know authors such as Austen, Bronte, Shakespeare, Twain, and Wharton. Also available are a selection of poems and plays, compilations, and other interesting resources.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of full text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide (Information from Hathi Trust site 2/22/12). Content is wide ranging: food, religion, statistics manuals (e.g., SPSS), sleep, rap music, etc.
- NCBI Bookshelf
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides biomedical books adapted for the Web. These are searchable and also linked through PubMed.
- Online Books 4 Free
A Web site that provides access to free online books from a variety of subject areas.
- Oxford Reference Online
Contains entries from over 100 major discipline-related dictionaries and other publications from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes the sciences, foreign languages, art and architecture, politics, business, literature and more.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Contains the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free full-text e-books in numerous formats, including HTML, EPUB, Kindle, and plain text.
- Safari Books Online
Contains electronic programming and information technology reference books.