Skip to main content

Digital Sciences Research Guide: Home

Digital Sciences Research Guide

 

Welcome to the Digital Sciences Lib Guide. In this guide, you will find useful information about library resources and other academic related information that will help you succeed in your program here at Kent State University and beyond.

Digital Sciences @ Kent State

The Digital Science Program was started as an independent and Interdisciplinary program in that it was not affiliated with any of the university's colleges and drew faculty from various colleges on campus. Since Fall 2016, the school is now part of the College of Communication and Information, but is still interdisciplinary. Students in the Digital Sciences program are permitted to take classes from other programs as part of their major.

Learn More...

School of Digital Sciences

College of Communication & Information 

Department of Computer Science

Department of Management Information Systems

 

                   

Calendar Information

Walk-in Advising-  MTWR 2-3pm. Please visit the Digital Sciences website for more information on Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 Advising or send an inquiry email to : DSAdvising@kent.edu

 

New! Walk-in Research Help with a Librarian- Get help with Finding articles, Avoiding Plagiarism, Citations etc. Come to the library during the office hours below (ask at the Reference Desk ) or send an email to make an appointment.

Office Hours

Peggy Nzomo (Global Education Librarian)- Thursdays 2pm- 4pm- or email: pnzomo@kent.edu

Trevor Watkins (Science Librarian)-  Tuesdays & Thursdays 9am-11am- or email:twatkin6@kent.edu

Searching Databases & Google Scholar

This workshop covers how to search databases and Google scholar.  The workshop will explore how to choose appropriate databases for your research and how to search these databases. Students will learn how to develop effective search strategies, enabling them to find the most relevant, useful resources. It will be offered on the dates and times below during the Fall semester. Please register online at: http://training.kent.edu/courses.php

Monday October 2, 2017 - 9:15am-10:30am- RM 152 Main Library

Monday October 30, 2017- 5:15pm - 6:30pm- RM 152 Main Library

You may also access additional information on your own through the following links:

  • KSU's library tutorials

  • Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL):  Writing in North American Higher Education context: A primer for International students.

    • This website is an introduction to the basics of academic writing for non-native speakers of English, who are also new to American colleges and universities.

 

Avoiding Plagiarism & Citation Basics

The Avoiding plagiarism section will cover definitions of plagiarism, the University policy on Plagiarism, and will teach strategies on how to avoid plagiarism, while the Citation Basics part  will explore the different citation styles (mainly APA and MLA) and  will also teach how to write your reference list or Bibliography. You will be given an opportunity to attend other sessions or to get extra help as needed. Please register online at: http://training.kent.edu/courses.php. This workshop will be offered on the following dates during the fall semester:

Thursday September 21, 2017 - 2:15pm- 3:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Monday October 9, 2017- 2:15pm- 2:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Friday October 20, 2017- 10:50am- 12:05pm- Main Library RM 152

Useful additional information on plagiarism  and Citation Basics can be accessed through the following links:

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/plagiarism

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/citationtools

 

MLA & APA Workshops

Workshops that cover each of the citation styles in detail will be offered on the following dates:

MLA

Tuesday September 26- 2:15pm-3:30pm- Main Library Room 152

Thursday October 19 - 2:15pm-3:30pm- Main Library RM 152

APA

Friday, September 29- 2:15pm-3:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Thursday, October 26- 5:15pm-6:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Additional information on the citation styles can be obtained thru the following links:

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/tutorials

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/apa

 

Citation Management

Organize your research! Citation Managers (Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote ) can help you: Organize citations & pdfs · Create instant bibliographies · Create a personal database of sources you have found · Format papers with in-text citations and bibliographies · Share your database with others · and more…. This workshop will be offered on the following dates:

Thursday September 9, 2017, 10:50am- 12:05pm- Main Library RM 152

Tuesday, October 24, 2017, 5:15-6:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Register online at:http://training.kent.edu/courses.php

 

 

Grow as a Professional and
Register
 for GPAD Workshops

 

 
The Division of Graduate Studies will be hosting our Graduate Professional and Academic Development (GPAD). The FALL 2017 GPAD Workshop series is scheduled for September 25-29 in 319 Kent Student Center, with workshops offered at 10am, 12pm and 2pm each day. The GPAD workshops are a collaborative initiative between the Division of Graduate Studies and other campus units that cover topics like personal branding, searching for grant funding, interviewing, conducting field research on a budget, and more.

A full schedule for GPAD workshops will be announced in early Fall. Students who attend at least three GPAD workshops during the semester will receive a "GPAD Certificate of Participation" that can be added to a CV or resume. All workshops are free to attend and refreshments will be served.

Questions? Please contact Kyle Reynolds at kreynol3@kent.edu or 330-672-1466..

 

 

The Graduate Research Symposium represents the largest research event at Kent State. It is designed to provide presentation experience and professional development to KSU graduate students. With this goal in mind, registration is non-competitive and we encourage all forms of scholarship to register. The 2017 Graduate Research Symposium will be held on Friday, April 21, 2017, in the Kent Student Center.

Graduate Student Senate (GSS) gives away over $10,000 in awards on the day of the event. Another component of the Symposium to highlight is the newly established interdisciplinary thematic sessions designed to emphasize the five research institutes: Brain Health, Advanced Materials, Environmental Science and Design, Healthy Communities, and Global Understanding. Participation in these sessions is voluntary, but there will be special awards reserved for these sessions.

The deadline to register is Monday, February 27 at 11:59pm.

For questions about the event, please contact GSS Symposium Chair Brooke L. Long at blong21@kent.edu.

Check back for the FALL 2017 Graduate Research Symposium.

Undergraduate Symposium on Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

Past Event: Check back for the Fall undergraduate Symposium on Research.

Sponsored by the Office of the Provost, Honors College, Research and Sponsored Programs, and University Libraries

SAVE THE DATE:

March 21, 2017
1:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Kent Student Center - Ballroom, Kent Campus

The deadline for submitting proposals has now passed. But you can still participate and support your classmates.

Benefits of the symposium

Participation in an academically enriching experience

Build your professional resume

Win cash awards for exemplary presentations

Not participating? That's OK — Come support your classmates,
and learn more about student research opportunities.

Learn more at : https://www.kent.edu/student_research/undergraduate-research-symposium or send an email to  ugresearch@kent.edu or contact the Student Research Director Ann Gosky, at agosky@kent.edu, or 330-672-0837.

 

Join us for a workshop on Research tools

Date: Thursday Jan 19th, 6-8pm

Place: Kent State University Library- First Floor- Quiet Study area

Learn to:

  • .Write awesome abstracts
  • Design Powerful posters!
  • Craft Presentations with a Punch!

Prepare for upcoming symposia while you mingle with other student researchers.

* This event is sponsored by the Office of Student Research, KSU Libraries, Graduate Student Senate and Undergraduate Student Government.

Visit the Office of Student Research website to learn about more events:

https://www.kent.edu/ugresearch/student-research-events

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)

The SURE program funds promising undergraduate researchers for eight weeks over the summer to engage in faculty-supervised research. The SURE program will support students with a $2,800 stipend and on-campus housing if needed. Faculty are provided with a $400 stipend to offset the cost of supplies/materials necessary for the research.

June 12, 2017- August 4, 2017

Submit Applications from January 23- March 1, 2017.

Sponsored by: Research and Sponsored Programs and Office of the President

Learn more: https://www.kent.edu/student_research/summer-undergraduate-research-experience

 

 

 

 

Date: This event took place on:Thursday, January 26th,  6pm-8pm

Venue: Library Fab 4th- Main Library (4th Floor)

Free Food: Come join other incoming international students and their families and socialize over dinner.

Socialize: Come and make new friends and learn about other cultures from around the world.

Advice/ Experiences: Come and hear a panel of 4 international students talk about their experiences at KSU.

Academics: Come and hear about library services and how we can help you succeed in your studies.

Register online at:  http://bit.ly/Jan26IntStuRec    

Loading