*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).
Kent State maps
Search by campus:
= OhioLINK Authentication
= KentLINK Library Catalog
= Additional Information
- MLA International Bibliography
Provides over a million citations to scholarly publications in literature, modern languages, and linguistics. Updated monthly.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Online
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers 1,500 serials publications, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations in all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, translation studies and more.
- Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and more.
- Literature Criticism Online
This resource provides online access to the full-text to all 10 of the Thomson Gale Literature Criticism Reference Sets, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, etc. Provides access to criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical and bibliographical information.
- Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to: full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines, overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics, links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, pictures, audio interviews and more.
- Translation Studies Bibliography
This growing bibliography includes more than 10,000 annotated records in the field of Translation and Interpreting (T&I) Studies.
- L'Année Philologique
Core database for scholarship in the study of Greek and Roman civilization. This includes literature; linguistics; political, economic, and social history; attitudes and daily life; religion; cultural and artistic life; law; philosophy; science and technology; the history of classical studies and more.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
This resource offers fully searchable comprehensive bilingual dictionaries and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning languages. Currently includes Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish bilingual dictionaries.
- ARTFL Project
Consists of 2000 texts in the French language ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
- BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation
This free database indexes scholarship in the fields of Translation and Interpretting. It contains over 35,000 entires. Created and maintained by the faculty at the Universitat d'Alacant in Spain.
- Byki Online
Byki is a language learning system that uses flashcards to help you master vocabulary in another language. Includes over 70 languages to chose from. Set up your personal account to use this resource. Look for the green "Sign Up Now" button to begin.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken. Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history—The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution—this resource features full-text search capabilities, canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles, and works by both well-known and lesser-known authors. From books and directories, to Bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, Eighteenth Century Collections Online features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews
- Foreign Language Videos
Includes the ViewPoints Project, a collection of foreign language video clips in which native speakers discuss aspects of their culture, family, daily life, and more. Videos are in QuickTime format and include contents, country, grammar and vocabulary notes. (NOTE: use limited to students, staff, and faculty of OhioLINK member institutions.)
- Fuente Academica
Fuente Academica provides scholarly journal articles in Spanish covering many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database covers 260 scholarly Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide.
- Mango Languages
Mango is an online language-learning system. Click the Start Learning button to try it out. Or create a free Mango profile to log in and track your progress. 35 languages available, including English as a Second Language. Use on its own or to supplement a course.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
MLA Directory of Periodicals lists over 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.
- Vente et Gestion (French Business Source)
Full-text coverage for French language business journals. Includes articles on accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, and technology.
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated daily.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This "Web of Science" database covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities, indexing 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Updated weekly.
- Citation Indexes
Three multidisciplinary "Web of Science" databases covering the journal literature in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Updated weekly.
- Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses)
Includes citations for dissertations dating from the first U.S. dissertation issued in 1861. Contains abstracts for dissertations from 1980 to the present and for master's theses from 1988 forward. The work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities are also included. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
- Dissertations and Theses (OhioLINK ETD Center)
Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students. Includes links to full-text.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
Full-text coverage of selected journals in the areas of arts, humanities, math, medicine, science, engineering, computer science, and social sciences. This link gives the current status of access to EJC titles. For some, links are provided through publishers' web sites.
- Historical Abstracts
Contains references about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
Contains records to over 100 million items in most (if not all) subject areas. Materials may include books, computer data files and programs, films, journal and magazine titles, newspapers, manuscripts, musical scores, and more. Not included are individual articles, stories, or book chapters. Updated daily.
Tammy Eschedor Voelker
Subject Librarian for:
English Studies, Modern and Classical Language Studies, Applied Linguistics