- African-American Poetry
Contains the full-text of nearly 3,000 poems written between 1760 and 1900.
- American & English Literature: Poetry, Drama and Prose
Contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print. Collections include: African-American Poetry 1700-1900; 20th Century African-American Poetry; American Poetry 1600-1900; 20th Century American Poetry; English Poetry; 20th Century English Poetry; American Drama; English Prose Drama 1280-1915; English Verse Dramas 13th-19th Centuries; Early American Fiction 1774-1850; 18th Century Fiction 1700-1800; Bibliography of American Literature; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; William Butler Yeats Collection; The Bible in English.
- American Drama
American dramatic literature from 1714 to the present. The database contains more than 2,000 full-text plays written by over 300 American dramatists.
- American Periodicals Series Online
American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. Updated quarterly.
- American Poetry Database
Contains the full text of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 writers from the 17th Century to the early 20th Century.
- Artemis Primary Sources
Artemis Primary Sources brings together Gale's primary source databases in one search interface. Currently allows for federated searching and access to Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Bible in English
The full text of 21 editions of the Bible written in English. Can be searched by contents, keyword, and parallel text (by chapter).
- Bibliography of American Literature
Provides nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930. Online version of The Bibliography of American Literature (9 vols, Yale University Press, 1955-1991)
- Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations and growing. Includes poems in English as well as in Spanish, French, German, Italian and many other languages. Allowing searching by subject, author, first/last line, keyword and full text.
- Contemporary Authors
Covers biographical information on more than 130,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides information about the lives and careers of authors from all genres and eras. Also includes biographical and critical studies written by scholars, as well as suggestions for further readings and author bibliographies.
- Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
Available to Kent, Salem and Stark Campuses only! The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language.
- Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians
This site from the British Library provides essays, author pages, videos and other unique content on the literature of the Romantic and Victorian periods.
- Early American Fiction
Contains 440 works of 80 novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. Included are the full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes
- Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
- Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Consists of selected full-text of Shakespeare's works, adaptations, and related writings. Items range from mid-16th century to mid-19th century.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken. Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history—The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution—this resource features full-text search capabilities, canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles, and works by both well-known and lesser-known authors. From books and directories, to Bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, Eighteenth Century Collections Online features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.
- Eighteenth Century Fiction
Offers the complete text of 96 works of British prose fiction published between 1700 and 1780.
- English Poetry Database
Contains the full text of over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900.
- English Prose Drama
Offers the full text of 1600 plays written in prose between the 16th-19th centuries. This source is based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
- English Short Title Catalogue
Describes works printed in any language in England or its dependencies produced prior to 1801.
- English Verse Drama
Provides the full text of over 2200 plays by hundreds of different authors from the late 14th century through the end of the 19th century. This source is based on materials listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews
- Gale Literary Database (Biographical Material)
Full-text access to "Dictionary of Literary Biography," "Contemporary Literary Criticism" and "Contemporary Authors" reference sets. A bio-bibliographical guide covering writers from all eras, nationalities and genres.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
The database provides a comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. Developed from data going back to 1984, this comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
MLA Directory of Periodicals lists over 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.
- Nineteenth-Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally. Currently, this resource includes the following collections: British Politics and Society; European Literature 1790-1840 : the Corvey Collection; Asia and the West : Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature : High and Popular Culture.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Can be searched for both current and historical definitions of a word, as well as provide quotations and the ability to search for the occurrence of a word in any definition. Updated periodically.
- Oxford Reference Online
Contains entries from over 100 major discipline-related dictionaries and other publications from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes the sciences, foreign languages, art and architecture, politics, business, literature and more.
- Play Index
An index of plays in English searchable by title; author; subject; style; genre; cast type; and more. Play Index provides the full publication details needed to locate the play in its published manifestations. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information.
- Salem Press
Online access to Salem Press' Critical Insights and Critical Surveys series, providing analytical essays on key literary authors and literary works written in the English language. Also provides access to Salem Press' Great Events From History Series as well as to Milestone Historical Documents.
- Short Story Index
Short Story Index provides indexing to over 100,000 short stories found within anthologies and collections. Search by author, title, subject, keyword, date, or literary technique. Also includes the full text for nearly 5,000 stories.
- Something About the Author
This database provides illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators.This is the online version of the more than 200 volume print edition.
- Victorian Studies Bibliography
Victorian Bibliography lists noteworthy publications (including articles, books, and reviews) that have a bearing on the Victorian period. It annually indexes over 400 journals, representing scholarship in a range of disciplines. Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies and a committee of the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America
- Women Writers Online
The Women Writers Online collection contains more than 320 texts published by women authors between 1526 and 1850. Search the full text of these works or browse by author/date/title.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.