LibGuides: Public Health Information Resources: Public Health Ebooks

Public Health Reference E-Books

For more about off-campus access, read this.

Encyclopedia of Public Health
Oxford Dictionary of Public Health
Oxford Dictionary of Statistics
Oxford Dictionary of Biomedicine
Oxford Companion to Medicine
International Encyclopedia of Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Covers all dimensions of the field, from public health aspects of diseases and conditions to the organization of social agencies. Other articles survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues.

Oxford Scholarship Online Public Health and Epidemiology Collection
Contains select titles which critically discuss the development and assessment of public health issues that affect a diverse range of populations worldwide.
Health, United States
Presents national trends in health statistics
NCBI Bookshelf
Electronic versions of textbooks, monographs, and text-based databases with biomedical themes. All books are fully searchable.
Guide to Community Preventive Services
Evidence-based findings from Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF).

Healthy People 2020
It's what we are all about!
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries
One-click search strategies in PubMed focusing on Healthy People 2020 objectives. Be sure to search PubMed using the special link to which displays the LinkOut icon for KSU and OhioLINK holdings!
Centers for Disease Control
It's all in here!
National Institutes of Health
There are 27 if you want to know...
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
USAID
"From the American People"

Community Solutions
Provides research, analysis, and advocacy to improve the health, social, and economic conditions for all Ohioans, with a focus on Northeast Ohio. Includes reports and statistics on health and healthcare issues.
National Center for Health Statistics
FASTSTATS from the CDC
CDC Data & Statistics by Topic
Ohio Department of Health Data & Statistics
From Vital Statistics to Environmental Licensing.
Community Health Status Indicators
Reports county level statistics. From United States Department of Health & Human Services.
Kaiser State Health Facts
Health Care Quality Reports (AHRQ)
Links to National Healthcare Quality Reports, National Healthcare Disparities Reports, Quality Indicators, and more!
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory
WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.
Explore Census Data
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, and more!
United States Census Bureau
Need numbers? They have them!

MedlinePlus
Information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues. Has everything from drug information to surgery videos.

Your tax dollars at work!

healthfinder.gov
"Live well. Learn how." From DHHS.
Household Products Information
Consumer Product Information Database
Environmental Health, Toxicology and Chemical Information
Collection of toxicology and environmental health databases.
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes.
Genome Resources
From the National Center for Biotechnology Information