Historical Government Documents and Statistics - HIST 32050 - Historical Research Methods

Sources of Historical Government Documents and Information

Congressional Hearings Digital Collection Historical Archive, Parts A and B, 1824-2003 This link opens in a new window
This collection from ProQuest includes the full text of published and unpublished Congressional hearings from 1824 to 2003.
Congressional Research Service Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides members of Congress, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Provides keyword access and full-text to CRS reports produced since 2004.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covers events from the Cold War to the Viet Nam war and later.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Includes descriptive records for historical and current federal publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
This collection, maintained by the GPO, provides access to presidential documents, both present and historical.
FDSys
Search interface for the US Government Publishing Office, including the Code of Federal Regulations, the Congressional Record, Compilation of Presidential Documents and other government documents.
The American Presidency Project
Searchable database of:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents:
Hoover to Obama (1929-2012)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama-Trump (2009-2017) and other resources.
Public Papers of the Presidents
This is a collection of presidential papers, both present and historical.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Explore this mapping tool with over 500,000 data indicators for the United States from present to 1790, including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys, and many other datasets.
FedStats This link opens in a new window
Access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.

U.S. Census Data
for up to date information about the data available through this interface, please check the site's FAQ