RefWorks at Kent State University: Links & Sharing RefWorks

A potentially significant function consists in having links in your references connect to content that is related to those references. The following are possible routines.

1. You can use the "Find It" links that are automatically included in the database records that you import from our research databases. For example, these links can connect to associated full text articles, or to book information on OhioLINK, etc.

2. You can also put links into references in your RefWorks site that can connect to web sites. For a given reference, in the RefWorks URL, or DOI, or Notes field type in the full web URL. For example, typing in "http://library.kent.edu" and saving the reference places a link to the University Libraries web site in that reference. Or, copying and pasting in the URL from a Google search result screen may serve as a means to 'rerun/update' a Google search that is related to a particular reference.  Clicking on the link should open up the web page in a new browser window.

3. You can attach files to references on your RefWorks site. This involves saving files such as pdfs and putting these on your RefWorks site. You might do this to make sure that files related to your references remain available to access via RefWorks.    

Steps:

1. Click on Edit for a desired reference record.
2. In the Edit Reference window, click on Choose File in the middle of the screen to browse, locate, and select the desired pdf/file. Double click on that file and you should see the file on the screen when added.
3. Click on Save Reference. Again you will see a message at right of screen indicating process completed.

Note: There has been a 20 MB per file attachment limit. Ask about other overall account attachment limits determined by Kent State's RefWorks Administrator. Using "Find It" in a RefWorks record to link to full-text options of a resource when available is probably recommended.

4. You can also link to files on your computer. Steps for doing this are available in the RefWorks "Help" information.

Sharing and Collaborating   Working with others on projects can be facilitated by sharing RefWorks resources. 

A. RefShare - sharing limited accesss to parts of your RefWorks content.

This function of RefWorks can be used to share folders from your RefWorks account that you select, or your whole RefWorks account.  Others are able to see and use your selected content by just using a link that you provide them; no login needed.  However, these users will not be able to modify the RefWorks content on your RefWorks account. 

1. Click the Organize & Share Folders tab to see list of folders to share.  Click on (or mouse over) the line for a folder you would like to share.

2. On that line to the right see a folder with a green arrow; clicking on that arrow, and then the Share button, takes you to a screen with a range of choices for sharing.  

3. Completing those choices prepares your sharing of the chosen folder; note and then use the URL that you see on the screen (copy and paste to share, e.g., by email, or on a web page, etc.).  Others who click on the link are taken to your chosen folder. 

B. Create Multiple RefWorks Accounts

RefWorks does not limit the number of accounts you can set up, allowing you to create multiple accounts that you can share with different audiences. Much like sharing your log‐in information, creating multiple RefWorks accounts and sharing those log‐in details allows others FULL access to the account. You can move records between accounts using the Export option (select the RefWorks Tagged Format) and then importing using the RefWorks Tagged Format import filter.  Steps:

Export References

1. Log‐in to your RefWorks account.

2. Select the references you want to export, click on the small folder icon under the Organize & Share tab, and add them to My List. (Or, if your references are already in a folder or you want to export your entire database, you can skip this step.)

3. Select References | Export.

4. Choose All References, My List, or a specific Folder to export.

5. Select RefWorks Tagged Format and click Export.

6. You will be prompted to save a .txt file or you will see a page with a txt file that you can save to your computer.  Save it as a .txt file.

Import References

1. Log‐in to your RefWorks account.

2. Select References | Import.

3. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the data source.

4. Next to Select Text File click Choose File and locate the .txt file you wish to import.

5. Click Import.

6. The references will appear in the Last Imported Folder.

NOTE:  RefID numbers are NOT transferred when exporting or importing. Any references imported from one RefWorks account to another, will be assigned new RefIDs according to the numbering in each account.

C. Create a Read­-Only Password

Read‐only access allows you to share your whole RefWorks account with others on a limited basis. They can search, view, print references, and create bibliographies using reference from your account, but NOT add, edit, or delete records or create/change folders.

1. Log in to your RefWorks account.

2. At the top of the screen you can find and click on the Update Profile link.

3. Type a read‐only password and click Save Profile. (Be sure the read‐only password is not the same as your original password).

4. With your log‐in name and the read‐only password, users will be allowed access to your databases in read‐only mode.

5. The user can tell they are in read‐only mode by looking in the top right corner of the screen; it reads "Read‐only."

NOTE: Users with read‐only access will be able to view your entire RefWorks database. You cannot limit their access to certain folders

D. Share your Log­In Information - full access to your complete RefWorks account.

You can share your log‐in name and password with any other registered RefWorks users at Kent State. By sharing your log‐in information, you grant others FULL ACCESS to your account. If you want to others to have the ability to edit your data but keep a clean copy of your database, you could create a separate RefWorks account.