LibGuides: Kent State University Library Resources for KSUCPM: Identifying Journal Articles

Research Databases

The Libraries provide access to over 100 research databases for identifying needed journal articles. In addition to the health sciences, there are databases for nearly every field. The complete listing is available on the Libraries' homepage (http://www.kent.edu/library) on "Databases" beneath the input box.

Key Research Databases for Medicine

NOTE to PubMed users: By using the specially-configured URL for PubMed, you will be provided links to the online, full-text articles available both through KSU and OhioLINK. [This is info is repeated in the PubMed summary below].

MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find articles from over 2000 journals on topics including nursing, medicine, pre-clinical science, health policy, and biomedicine.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides free, worldwide access to 35 million citations in all areas of the life sciences including but not limited to: medicine, nursing, biological sciences, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and much more. Accessing PubMed through this URL will provide links to online, full-text articles available through Kent State University Libraries subscriptions.

Specialized Health Research Databases

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles on complementary, holistic, and integrative approaches to health and wellness. Topics include: acupuncture, childbirth, Chinese medicine, energy medicine, homeopathy, nutrition and more.

CAM on PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) partnered to create this database, which is a subset of PubMed providing research-based information on treatments and conditions.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles on nursing and allied health topics including physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies and more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and research instruments records.
Includes such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship. Updated monthly.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of several databases including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and topic-specific special collections.
Doody's Core Titles This link opens in a new window
Browse a list of citations of influential books in 121 specialty areas including: clinical medicine, basic science, nursing, allied health and other health-related disciplines. The list is updated each year and provides guidance in selecting books. Geared toward librarians and individuals who'd like to discover core health publications.

ETOH Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive online bibliographic database containing over 100,000 records on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. ETOH is updated monthly and contains research findings from the late 1960s to the present, as well as historical research literature. A thesaurus is available for searching alcohol and other drug terms including a subset index of language used in the ETOH database.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Locate articles on questionnaires, surveys, and other assessment instruments used in the Health Sciences.
The assessment instruments are not provided; however, information on how to find them is given.

Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSSR)
- This link opens in a new window
HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Users may examine and compare characteristics of resources employed in health services research, behavioral and social sciences and public health.

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from 70 journals and magazines on health-related topics including fitness, nutrition, children's health, diabetes, and more. Geared toward patient education and general interest.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from 255 journals, some peer reviewed, on a variety of health-related topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, nursing management, medical law and more.
Human Nutrition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles on dietetics and nutrition.
Includes articles on food techniques, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition.

MedicLatina
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides accurate, unbiased information on natural health, including herbs and supplements; conditions; drug interactions; alternative therapies; and homeopathy. These articles are entirely based on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence. The more than 12,000 studies have been reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists to insure the provision of reliable information without exaggeration or misrepresentation.
PsycINFO - Current File (OSearch Interface)
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in psychology and related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO covers journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports.
PMC (Formerly PubMed Central)
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Kent State University Library Resources for KSUCPM: Identifying Journal Articles

Research Databases

Key Research Databases for Medicine

Specialized Health Research Databases

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information