LibGuides: Second Language Teaching Resource Guide: Ebooks and more

Select E-Books on Second Language Teaching and Acquisition

Introduction to Instructed Second Language Acquisition by Shawn Loewen
ISBN: 9780203117811
Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Instructed Second Language Acquisition is the first book to present a cohesive view of the different theoretical and pedagogical perspectives that comprise instructed second language acquisition (ISLA), defined as any type of learning that occurs as a result of the manipulating the process and conditions of second language acquisition. The book begins by considering the effectiveness of ISLA and the differences between ISLA and naturalistic L2 learning. It then goes on to discuss the theoretical, empirical, and pedagogical aspects of such key issues in ISLA as grammar learning; interaction in the classroom; focus on form, function and meaning; vocabulary learning; pronunciation learning; pragmatics learning; learning contexts; and individual differences. This timely and important volume is ideally suited for the graduate level ISLA course, and provides valuable insights for any SLA scholar interested in the processes involved in second language learning in classroom settings.
The TESOL encyclopedia of English language teaching by John I. Liontas, Ed.
ISBN: 9781118784235
Publication Date: 2018
"The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students world-wide. Over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe reflect the collaborative efforts of a truly international team of editors and advisory board members."-Publisher
The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 by Luciana C. de Oliveira (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119421702
Publication Date: 2019
The first handbook to explore the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages in elementary and secondary education (K-12). The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 combines contemporary research and current practices to provide a comprehensive overview of the origins, evolution, and future direction of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at the elementary and secondary levels (K-12).
The Handbook of Advanced Proficiency in Second Language Acquisition by Paul A. Malovrh (Editor); Alessandro G. Benati (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119261636
Publication Date: 2018
The Handbook of Advanced Proficiency in Second Language Acquisition offers an overview of the most recent and scientific-based research concerning higher proficiency in second language acquisition (SLA). With contributions from an international team of experts in the field, the Handbook presents several theoretical approaches to SLA and offers an examination of advanced proficiency from the viewpoint of various contexts and dimensions of second language performance.
Sociolinguistics and Second Language Acquisition by Kimberly L. Geeslin; Avizia Yim Long
ISBN: 9781136306068
Publication Date: 2014
Sociolinguistics and Second Language Acquisition is a comprehensive textbook that bridges the gap between the fields of sociolinguistics and second language acquisition, exploring the variety of ways in which social context influences the acquisition of a second language. It reviews basic principles of sociolinguistics, provides a unified account of the multiple theoretical approaches to social factors in second languages, summarizes the growing body of empirical research, including examples of findings from a wide range of second languages, and discusses the application of sociolinguistics to the second language classroom.
The Affective Dimension in Second Language Acquisition by Danuta Gabryś-Barker (Editor); Joanna Bielska (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847699695
Publication Date: 2013
Affectivity is at the core of everything we do in life. Thus, its development is also central to learning/acquisition and is important for educational contexts. The studies presented in this volume consider the different contexts of language learning and examine different types of participants in this process. Most of them look at a formal instruction context, while others look beyond the classroom and even report on the author's own affectivity and its involvement in learning experiences.

Search for more ebooks on your topic by going to the Kent State online catalog KentLINK and limit by material type to "Electronic Book"

Online Reference Tools

These resources are listed on the Alphabetical Research Databases page.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains entries from over 100 major discipline-related dictionaries and other publications from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes the sciences, foreign languages, art and architecture, politics, business, literature and more.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials that are helpful when learning a new language.
Languages included: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish

Relevant Print Reference Books

Key Concepts in Second Language Acquisition by Shawn Loewen; Hayo Reinders; P. Darasawang
ISBN: 0230230180
Publication Date: 2011
What does it mean to acquire a language? What is considered a 'second' language in multilingual settings? This practical and comprehensive guide provides an opportunity to consider these issues, providing easy access to concise definitions of key terms and concepts in the study of Second Language Acquisition.
A Glossary of Second Language Acquisition by Iman Tohidian
ISBN: 1607419416
Publication Date: 2009
The present pocket-sized alphabetic guide to Second Language Acquisition is a landmark and excellent piece of work which gives an up-to-date introduction to the key terms and concepts of Second Language Acquisition (SLA). Entries presented are lucid and concise, and provide an easy-to-read overview of an area of Linguistics. Features that make the book an innovative one include that it contains an introduction which outlines the range of the field.
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning by Eli Hinkel (Editor)
ISBN: 0805841814
Publication Date: 2005
This landmark volume provides a broad-based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research into second language teaching and learning. Fifty-seven chapters are organized innbsp;eight thematic sections: *social contexts of second language learning; *research methodologies in second-language learning, acquisition, and teaching; *contributions of applied linguistics to the teaching and learning of second language skills; *second language processes and development; *teaching methods and curricula; *issues in second or foreign language testing and assessment; *identity, culture, and critical pedagogy in second language teaching and learning; and *important considerations in language planning and policies.
Encyclopeida of Language and Education by Nancy H. Hornberger (Editor); Kendall A. King (Editor)
ISBN: 0387328750
Publication Date: 2007
In this second, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments including two new volumes of research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of sociogeographic experience in the field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by Michael Byram (Editor)
ISBN: 0415332869
Publication Date: 2004
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative handbook dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. It has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals, but can also be used as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. It offers a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history. Themes covered include: methods and materials assessment and testing contexts and concepts influential figures related disciplines, such as psychology, anthropology and sociolinguistics.
Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics by Richard W. Schmidt; Jack C. Richards
ISBN: 1408204606
Publication Date: 2010
Specifically written for students of language teaching and applied linguistics, this work has become an indispensible resource for those engaged in courses in TEFL, TESOL, applied linguistics and introductory courses in general linguistics.Providing straightforward and accessible explanations of difficult terms and ideas in applied linguistics, this dictionary offers: Nearly 3000 detailed entries, from subject areas such as teaching methodology, curriculum development, sociolinguistics, syntax and phonetics.; Clear and accurate definitions which assume no prior knowledge of the subject matter helpful diagrams and tables cross references throughout, linking related subject areas for ease of reference, and helping to broaden students' knowledge
The Cambridge Guide to Pedagogy and Practice in Second Language Teaching by Anne Burns
ISBN: 9781107015869
Publication Date: 2012
This collection of original articles provides a state-of-the-art overview of key issues and approaches in contemporary language teaching. Written by internationally prominent researchers, educators, and emerging scholars, the chapters are grouped into five sections: rethinking our understanding of teaching, learner diversity and classroom learning, pedagogical approaches and practices, components of the curriculum, and media and materials. Each chapter covers key topics in teaching methodology such as reflective pedagogy, teaching large classes, outcomes-based language learning, speaking instruction, and technology in the classroom.