This is the "Home" page of the "Kent State University Library Resources for KSUCPM" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Kent State University Library Resources for KSUCPM  

This is a guide to the library resources available to all students, faculty, and staff in the KSU community.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.kent.edu/KSUCPM Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

KSU Information Environment

You have access to the library resources available on the Kent and Regional Campuses.

In addition, the University's membership in OhioLINK connects you to the book collections of the 90 academic libraries in Ohio plus over 12,000 e-journals and 140 research databases.

NOTE: To access these licensed resources from off-campus, you will need to "authenticate".  See the "Connecting from off-campus" information in the box to the right.

 

What's in this Guide

University Libraries welcomes the students, faculty, and staff of KSUCPM to share in the resources available through the University and OhioLINK. This guide highlights the basics of what is available and how to access.

Getting Started: guide to key tools and resources

Getting Books: options for getting what you need

Identifying Journal Articles:  research databases for searching for what you need

Getting Journal Articles: obtaining the articles you identify

 

Connecting from Off-Campus

Resources licensed by the Libraries require that users authenticate themselves as valid University users. There are presently two authentication methods available.

1.  The KSU Cisco VPN is a service that allows you to connect to the campus network from a remote location as if you were on campus. This provides access to all licensed resources (such as research databases or online journals).

First you must perform a simple, one-time installation of the VPN client program on your computer. After that, whenever you need access to a restricted resource, run the VPN program (there will be an icon on your computer's desktop). Enter your Flashline ID and password. You will be connected to the campus network and can then access any restricted resource.


2.  OhioLINK Authentication Service allows access only to OhioLINK resources. This includes most research databases and electronic journals. No special setup is required. Authentication requires use of your Flashline credentials. A session times out after two hours.

Which Method to Use?

Use Kent VPN when you are using your own personal computer, do extended searches, and if you need to use more than just OhioLINK resources. OhioLINK Authentication is the choice if your off-campus access is not from your own personal computer, and/or you rely mostly on OhioLINK resources, do not search for long periods, or need an alternative method if Kent VPN is not working for you.

Getting Help

For assistance in using any of these authentication methods, contact the University HelpDesk at 330-672-HELP(4357) or or visit http://support.kent.edu .

For assistance in using any library resource, contact library staff.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip